



## Poll Results of Annual General Meeting held on 24 April 2008

The Bank wishes to announce that all the resolutions were approved by shareholders by way of poll at the AGM held on 24 April 2008.

At the Annual General Meeting of Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "Bank") held on 24 April 2008 (the "AGM"), all the resolutions were approved by shareholders by poll voting. The number of shares represented by votes for and against the respective resolutions at the AGM was as follows:

		No. of Votes (%)		
	Resolutions	For		Against
1	To adopt the reports and audited financial statements for	1,380,073,		67,348
	2007.	(99.995	1%)	(0.0049%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.	esolution was	duly	passed as an
2(a)	To re-elect Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien as Director.	1,403,071,	164	343,853
		(99.975		(0.0245%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		•	passed as an
2(b)	To re-elect Dr Y T Cheng as Director.	1,402,737,	784	623,003
		(99.9556		(0.0444%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.			•
2(c)	To re-elect Dr Marvin K T Cheung as Director.	1,399,627,		3,682,536
		(99.7376		(0.2624%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.			•
2(d)	To re-elect Mr Alexander A Flockhart as Director.	1,402,781,	806	410,553
		(99.9707		(0.0293%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.			•
2(e)	To re-elect Mr Jenkin Hui as Director.	1,402,722,		464,787
		(99.9669		(0.0331%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.			passed as an
2(f)	To re-elect Mr Joseph C Y Poon as Director.	1,401,961,	003	1,215,762
		(99.9134		(0.0866%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the re	esolution was	duly	passed as an
	ordinary resolution.			
3	To fix the remuneration of the Directors.	1,403,020,		57,331
		(99.9959		(0.0041%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		duly	passed as an
4	To reappoint KPMG as Auditors and to authorise the Directors			116,604
	to fix their remuneration.	(99.9917		(0.0083%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the re	esolution was	duly	passed as an
	ordinary resolution.			

5	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to repurchase	1,403,013,158	109,896	
	shares not exceeding 10% of the issued share capital.	(99.9922%)	(0.0078%)	
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the re	solution was du	ly passed as an	
	ordinary resolution.			
6	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to issue			
	additional shares which shall not in aggregate exceed, except	(88.5469%)	(11.4531%)	
	in certain specific circumstances such as pursuant to a rights			
	issue or any scrip dividend scheme, 20% of the issued share			
	capital (5% where the shares are to be allotted wholly for			
	cash).			
As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the resolution was duly p				
	ordinary resolution.			

The total number of shares entitling the holder to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions at the AGM was 1,911,842,736 shares. None of these 1,911,842,736 shares were shares entitling the holder to attend and vote only against any of the resolutions at the AGM.

No shareholders were required to abstain from voting on any of the resolutions at the AGM. No person has indicated in the circular containing the notice of the AGM that it/he/she intends to abstain from voting on or vote against any of the resolutions at the AGM.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the AGM.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien\* (Chairman), Mr Raymond C F Or (Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive), Mr Edgar D Ancona\*, Mr John C C Chan\*, Mr Patrick K W Chan, Dr Y T Cheng\*, Dr Marvin K T Cheung\*, Mr Alexander A Flockhart\*, Mr Jenkin Hui\*, Mr Peter T C Lee\*, Dr Eric K C Li\*, Dr Vincent H S Lo\*, Mr Joseph C Y Poon, Dr David W K Sin\*, Mr Richard Y S Tang\* and Mr Peter T S Wong\*.

- \* Independent non-executive Director
- \* Non-executive Director

For and on behalf of Hang Seng Bank Limited C C Li Secretary

Hong Kong, 24 April 2008

## Hang Seng Bank Limited

Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability

Registered Office and Head Office: 83 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong

Member HSBC Group