Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock code: 11)

Poll Results of Annual General Meeting held on 14 May 2010

At the Annual General Meeting of Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "Bank") held on 14 May 2010 (the "AGM"), all the resolutions were approved by shareholders by poll voting. The number of shares represented by votes for and against the respective resolutions at the AGM was as follows:

		No. of Votes (%)	
	Resolutions	For	Against
1	To adopt the reports and audited financial statements for	1,331,729,057	5,085
	2009.	(99.999618%)	(0.000382%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		,
2(a)	To re-elect Dr John C C Chan as Director.	1,357,490,060	
		(99.842772%)	
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		•
2(b)	To elect Mr William W Leung as Director.	1,356,022,602	3,553,922
		(99.738601%)	,
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		•
2(c)	To re-elect Dr Eric K C Li as Director.	1,354,594,623	5,000,196
		(99.632229%)	(0.367771%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.	esolution was dul	y passed as an
2(d)	To re-elect Dr Vincent H S Lo as Director.	1,355,617,663	
		(99.706891%)	
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		•
2(e)	To elect Mr Iain J Mackay as Director.	1,355,854,618	, ,
		(99.727014%)	
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the reordinary resolution.		•
2(f)	To elect Mrs Dorothy K Y P Sit as Director.	1,355,356,203	
		(99.690310%)	(0.309690%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the re	esolution was dul	y passed as an
	ordinary resolution.		
3	To re-appoint KPMG as Auditors and to authorise the	1,357,321,714	
	Directors to fix their remuneration.	(99.839762%)	(0.160238%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the re	esolution was dul	y passed as an
	ordinary resolution.		
4	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to repurchase		8,944
	shares not exceeding 10% of the issued share capital.	(99.999342%)	(0.000658%)
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the re	esolution was dul	y passed as an
	ordinary resolution.		

5	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to issue	1,264,157,627	94,988,473
	additional shares which shall not in aggregate exceed, except	(93.011165%)	(6.988835%)
	in certain specific circumstances such as pursuant to a rights		
	issue or any scrip dividend scheme, 20% of the issued share		
	capital (5% where the shares are to be allotted wholly for		
	cash).		
	As the required majority of the votes was obtained, the res	solution was du	ly passed as an
	ordinary resolution.		

The total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions at the AGM was 1,911,842,736 shares. None of these 1,911,842,736 shares were shares entitling the holders to attend and vote only against any of the resolutions at the AGM.

No shareholders were required to abstain from voting on any of the resolutions at the AGM. No person has indicated in the circular containing the notice of the AGM that it/he/she intends to abstain from voting on or vote against any of the resolutions at the AGM.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the AGM.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien* (Chairman), Mrs Margaret Leung (Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive), Dr John C C Chan*, Dr Marvin K T Cheung*, Mr Alexander A Flockhart*, Mr Jenkin Hui*, Mr William W Leung, Dr Eric K C Li*, Dr Vincent H S Lo*, Mr Iain J Mackay*, Mrs Dorothy K Y P Sit*, Mr Richard Y S Tang* and Mr Peter T S Wong*.

* Independent non-executive Directors

* Non-executive Directors

For and on behalf of Hang Seng Bank Limited C C Li Secretary

Hong Kong, 14 May 2010

Hang Seng Bank Limited

Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability

Registered Office and Head Office: 83 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong

Member HSBC Group