Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock code: 11)

Poll Results of Annual General Meeting held on 13 May 2011

At the Annual General Meeting of Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "Bank") held on 13 May 2011 (the "AGM"), all the resolutions were approved by shareholders by poll voting. The number of shares represented by votes for and against the respective resolutions at the AGM was as follows:

		No. of Votes (%)	
	Resolutions	For	Against
1	To adopt the reports and audited financial statements for	1,366,891,146	
	2010.	(99.999829%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re-	esolution was du	ly passed as an
	ordinary resolution.	1	
2(a)	To re-elect Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien as Director.	1,356,687,317	
	As the required mainty of the water wave abtained the r	(99.248930%)	1
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.	esolution was du	ly passed as an
2(b)	To re-elect Dr Marvin K T Cheung as Director.	1,364,390,026	2,513,936
. ,		(99.816085%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.	esolution was du	ly passed as an
2(c)	To elect Ms L Y Chiang as Director.	1,366,174,900	721,552
(-)		(99.947212%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.	esolution was du	ly passed as an
2(d)	To re-elect Mr Jenkin Hui as Director.	1,358,780,746	8,087,565
		(99.408314%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.	esolution was du	ly passed as an
2(e)	To elect Ms Sarah C Legg as Director.	1,363,031,119	
		(99.719738%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.		
2(f)	To elect Mr Mark S McCombe as Director.	1,363,031,991	
		(99.718658%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the reordinary resolution.		
2(g)	To elect Mr Michael W K Wu as Director.	1,365,457,519	
		(99.894644%)	1 /
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.		
3	To fix the remuneration of the Directors.	1,366,397,005	
		(99.965903%)	(0.034097%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re- ordinary resolution.	esolution was du	ly passed as an

		No. of Votes (%)		
	Resolutions	For	Against	
4	To re-appoint KPMG as Auditor and to authorise the Directors	1,363,461,058	2,726,231	
	to fix their remuneration.	(99.800450%)	(0.199550%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.			
5	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to repurchase	1,366,575,447	122,587	
	shares not exceeding 10% of the issued share capital.	(99.991030%)	(0.008970%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the resolution was duly passed as an ordinary resolution.			
6	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to issue additional shares which shall not in aggregate exceed, except in certain specific circumstances such as pursuant to a rights issue or any scrip dividend scheme, 20%, or 5% where the shares are to be allotted wholly for cash, of the issued share capital. As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the re ordinary resolution.	(90.238298%)	(9.761702%)	

The total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against all the resolutions at the AGM was 1,911,842,736 shares. None of these 1,911,842,736 shares were shares entitling the holders to attend and vote only against any of the resolutions at the AGM.

No shareholders were required to abstain from voting on any of the resolutions at the AGM. No person has indicated in the circular containing the notice of the AGM that it/he/she intends to abstain from voting on or vote against any of the resolutions at the AGM.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the AGM.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr Raymond K F Ch'ien* (Chairman), Mrs Margaret Leung (Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive), Dr John C C Chan*, Dr Marvin K T Cheung*, Ms L Y Chiang*, Mr Jenkin Hui*, Ms Sarah C Legg[#], Mr William W Leung, Dr Eric K C Li*, Dr Vincent H S Lo[#], Mr Mark S McCombe[#], Mrs Dorothy K Y P Sit[#], Mr Richard Y S Tang*, Mr Peter T S Wong[#] and Mr Michael W K Wu*.

- [#] Non-executive Directors
- * Independent Non-executive Directors

For and on behalf of Hang Seng Bank Limited C C Li Secretary

Hong Kong, 13 May 2011

Hang Seng Bank Limited Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability Registered Office and Head Office: 83 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong

Member HSBC Group