Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Stock code: 11)

Poll Results of the 2022 Annual General Meeting and Stepping down of Directors

Poll Results of Annual General Meeting held on 5 May 2022

At the Annual General Meeting of Hang Seng Bank Limited (the "Bank") held on 5 May 2022 (the "2022 AGM"), all the resolutions were approved by shareholders by poll voting. The number of shares represented by votes for and against the respective resolutions at the 2022 AGM was as follows:

		No. of Votes (%)	
	Resolutions	For	Against
1	To adopt the reports and audited financial statements	1,420,057,680	649,437
	for 2021.	(99.954288%)	(0.045712%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an
2(a)	To elect Diana Cesar as Director.	1,394,504,063	26,203,054
		(98.155633%)	(1.844367%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an
2(b)	To elect Cordelia Chung as Director.	1,420,665,805	41,312
		(99.997092%)	(0.002908%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an
2(c)	To elect Clement K M Kwok as Director.	1,417,354,780	
		(99.764037%)	(0.235963%)
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an
2(d)	To elect David Y C Liao as Director.	1,388,348,348	32,358,769
		(97.722348%)	\ /
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an
2(e)	To elect Xiao Bin Wang as Director.	1,389,899,592	30,807,525
		(97.831536%)	· /
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an
3	To re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as auditor and	1,416,013,540	4,665,560
	to authorise the Directors to determine the remuneration of the auditor.	(99.671596%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.		duly passed as an
4	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to		853,640
	buy-back shares not exceeding 10% of the number of	(99.939914%)	(0.060086%)
	shares in issue.		
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained ordinary resolution.	, the resolution was	duly passed as an

		No. of Votes (%)		
Resolutions		For	Against	
5	To grant a general mandate to the Directors to issue		191,410,441	
	additional shares which shall not in aggregate exceed,		(13.472899%)	
	except in certain specific circumstances such as			
	pursuant to a rights issue or any scrip dividend scheme,			
	20%, or 5% where the shares are to be allotted wholly			
	for cash, of the number of shares in issue.			
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained	, the resolution was	duly passed as an	
	ordinary resolution.			
6	Special Resolution:	1,420,699,617	7,500	
	To amend the Articles of Association.	(99.999472%)	(0.000528%)	
	As the required majority of the votes were obtained, the resolution was duly passed as a spec			
	resolution.			

As at the date of the 2022 AGM, a total of 1,911,842,736 shares of the Bank were in issue which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote on all the resolutions at the 2022 AGM. There were no restrictions on any shareholders to cast votes on any of the proposed resolutions at the 2022 AGM. No person has indicated in the circular containing the notice of the 2022 AGM that it/he/she intends to abstain from voting on or vote against any of the resolutions at the 2022 AGM.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, the Bank's registrar, acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the 2022 AGM.

Irene Lee (Chairman), Diana Cesar (Chief Executive), John Chan, L Y Chiang, David Liao, Vincent Lo, Kenneth Ng and Xiao Bin Wang attended the 2022 AGM in person, while all other Directors attended the 2022 AGM by electronic means.

Stepping down of Directors

With effect from the conclusion of the 2022 AGM, John Chan has retired as a Director, and Vincent Lo has stepped down as a Director in order to spend more time pursuing his personal and business interests. Both Dr Chan and Dr Lo have confirmed that they have no disagreement with the Board and that they are not aware of any matter relating to their stepping down from the Board that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank.

The Board would like to express its gratitude to Dr Chan and Dr Lo for their wise counsel and invaluable contributions to the Bank during their tenure of office and wish them all the best in the future.

As at the date hereof, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Irene Y L Lee* (Chairman), Diana Cesar (Chief Executive), L Y Chiang*, Cordelia Chung*, Kathleen C H Gan#, Clement K M Kwok*, David Y C Liao#, Kenneth S Y Ng*, Xiao Bin Wang* and Michael W K Wu*.

- * Independent Non-executive Directors
- * Non-executive Directors

For and on behalf of Hang Seng Bank Limited C C Li Secretary

Hong Kong, 5 May 2022

恒生銀行有限公司

Hang Seng Bank Limited

Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability

Registered Office and Head Office: 83 Des Voeux Road Central, Hong Kong